109 – On Cheaper Shaving Alternatives

(AUTHOR’S NOTE: The products in this entry were featured because of the benefits received during the use of such. All opinions in this post are solely that of my own, and I did not receive any form of compensation whatsoever from the product manufacturers for this review.)

Remember the VMV Hypoallergenics 1635 Shave Cream No. 3 and VMV Hypoallergenics 1635 Invigorating Aftershave Gel I wrote about last January? I finished both products just last October – 11 months after receiving both as gifts. CJ and I visited VMV’s Trinoma store and asked if they still had a discount for the 1635 when you turn in empty containers. Sadly, they no longer offered a discount; returning empty containers will now be converted to points on their loyalty card.

I decided to look for alternative shaving products at that point. Fortunately, there was a Beauty Bar branch at Trinoma. While beauty bloggers love the makeup and beauty products that Beauty Bar carries, I am raving about its unique and hard-to-find grooming products for men. Lush Cosmetics also had a branch at the mall that was well-stocked likewise. And then it sank unto me: alright, let me try out something different this time.

Lush Ambrosia Shaving Cream

You can use this cream in two ways: apply it like your regular cream then shave afterwards…

The Lush Ambrosia Shaving Cream is a far cry from the previous shaving cream I used (VMV Hypoallergenics 1635 Shave Cream No. 3). It’s a non-foaming cream that has a consistency more akin to a lotion. If you ask me – the best way to use this cream is to apply it liberally on facial hair, stroke those areas to make the hairs stand, and leave it on for some time before shaving. The cream worked its oat milk-scented magic on me right after the first pass of the razor—soft and supple skin, sans the post-shave bumps.

…or leave it on your skin to do its magic before shaving. (I prefer this one most of the time.)

If you’re in a hurry, you can also use the Lush Ambrosia Shaving Cream without rinsing: just apply liberally, leave on, shave, and wipe off the excess. Given its consistency, the only downside for this cream is its tendency to clog the razor. Thus, it is highly recommended to rinse the blade after each pass. In addition, it doesn’t guarantee a 100% clean shave on the first strokes – requiring extra effort for a close shave. Nevertheless, I’d give this a 7 out of 10.

Gillette Blue 3 Razor

Throwback to college days and using disposable razors.

Starting to shave the beard.

Shaving the chin area.

At this point, I already drew blood at the chin area – a stroke too close to the skin.

Rinsing the blade under running water after each pass.

From a reloadable Gillette Mach 3 razor, I shifted back to a disposable one—the Gillette Blue 3 razor. The shift was an accidental one. I intended to buy Mach 3 cartridges, but the Mercury Drug branch I visited had none. I’m not going to elaborate on this as I don’t see anything special with this razor. Well, if you count the fact that it’s easier to rinse unlike the cartridge types I previously used.

Groomed Cool It! Post Shave Balm

This amount is enough for the upper lip and chin area.

I’ve been seeing the Groomed Cool It! Post Shave Balm for some time now, so I decided to try it out this time. The VMV Hypoallergenics 1635 Invigorating Aftershave Gel I used before had a cooling, peppery sensation with a hint of herbiness, and that was a challenge to beat for this one. What a surprise—this doesn’t disappoint!

A little balm goes a long way with this one.

The aftershave balm really stuck to its branding, with peppermint and menthol giving it that ice-cold kick. Its scent initially reminded me of a familiar brand of foot scrub that my mom used. It doesn’t sting unlike the 1635 aftershave gel, but it provides the cooling effect a few moments after you put it on. This sensation diffuses away to leave a moist layer on the skin, perfect for a freshly-shaved mug. CJ has doubts about this balm, claiming that it doesn’t leave my chin “as soft as a baby’s butt”. (If you’re reading this right now, I’m just joking – don’t worry!)

But you know what I liked about these? The Lush Ambrosia Shaving Cream cost me P725 for a 100g bottle, while the Groomed Cool It! Post Shave Balm set me back at P195. I would have shelled out more if I bought other brands, but for under a thousand bucks – this is a sweet deal if you ask me. No regrets buying these two, however I have to determine how long these will last me. One question remains, however: will they go beyond 11 months, or will they go empty at an earlier date?

I hope you enjoyed this short product review. Until the next post.

6 thoughts on “109 – On Cheaper Shaving Alternatives

Leave a Reply

