82 – On Having Enemies

From a photoshoot at a vacant lot right beside our place, circa 2012.

Let me be honest just for once. I have an abysmally low tolerance for other people’s bullcrap – unless you are a close friend of mine. Some people may see this as abrasive and immature on my end – but let’s call a spade a spade. If you’re like me who’s grown tired of being stepped upon by other people, you’ll know that certain point when you’ll stop tolerating and openly call bull. Sure, others might not like you for such a demeanor – but be glad you did. You’ll look back and smile at how you stood up against the bullcrap of other people. As Mahatma Gandhi said: First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.

I’ve had more than enough enemies in my life. From the bullies in elementary and high school, the abrasive wannabes in my college, some rednecks from the Southern areas who I crossed lines with in cosplay, millennial fashionista hipsters from my first job at Yell Adworks, and recently – a few assholes where I work right now. I can count them by hand, but they’re just a few specks.

Which brings me to my main point: it’s inevitable that this low tolerance of mine towards others will bring me those so-called enemies, especially in the workplace. But here’s something to think about: no matter what you do, you will have enemies sooner or later. Many will be pissed off by your mere existence, so remember that old maxim about trying to please everybody: you end up pleasing none. Winston Churchill once said: You have enemies? Good. It means you stood up for something. Pay them no mind and do your work in silence, but don’t be afraid to call out their bullcrap.

Most importantly, this statement by John F. Kennedy is one to keep in mind: Forgive your enemies, but never forget their names.

One thought on “82 – On Having Enemies

Leave a Reply

