68 – On Pre-Valentine Feasts and Celebrating Hearts’ Day

Our first Valentine’s Day as a couple.

“The time is right, your perfume fills my head
The stars get red – and oh, the night’s so blue
And then I go and spoil it all by saying
Something stupid like ‘I love you’…”

(Robbie Williams and Nicole Kidman, “Something Stupid”)

To be honest, I don’t see the point in celebrating Valentine’s Day and showing how much you love someone only on the 14th of February. For one, you get stressed out and fail to enjoy the day with couples vying for a space where they can be together. Mostly, it’s my belief that every day should be treated as Valentine’s Day—something that my parents stuck to for 25 years (and counting). Don’t get me wrong, but I don’t see the need to show my partner how much I love her for only one day; I have 364 days to do so.

Katipunan’s best-kept secret.

Okay, enough of my thoughts.

As a sort of pre-Valentine’s Day gift and romantic date rolled into one, CJ and I went to Ninyo Fusion Cuisine along Esteban Abada – a day before Valentine’s. This intimate dining place is tucked away in a circa 1950s house, which adds to its allure. It was rather familiar as a batch mate of mine from college visited Ninyo a few years ago, and had already written about it here.

Rose petals and candles infused a romantic flair to the table. Thanks to her advanced reservation, we didn’t have any problems come February 13. We tried out their seven-course degustation menus, something Ninyo is known for. For the month of love, the restaurant had a special menu (Nostalgie) that featured snacks that early 90s kids are familiar with. CJ, on the other hand, tried out their Lyon menu which featured items with French influences.

Here are some of the dishes we indulged in during our pre-Valentine dinner. I’m not going to arrange this in gallery mode, so you can easily see each picture. I wasn’t able to take pictures of all the course items for both our menus, so this will have to suffice. But believe me, there’s a lot more to these than meets the eye.

(From L-R) Duck leg confit and Haw Flakes sandwich, torched duck breast and uni nigiri with Orange Swits soy sauce, and torchon of foie gras lollipop with raspberry Pop Rocks.

Vietnamese salad roll filled with Triple E squid flakes, set on shiitake confit and drizzled with 100% maple ponzu vinaigrette.

Applewood smoked Chilean sea bass baked in wakame pesto sauce – set on wasabi potato gratin, Sun-Maid layo quinoa salad, and crispy crab Sakanami.

Char-grilled tiger prawns with Asian hollandaise, served with blue swimmer crab fat risotto.

Pan-seared US clod tender steak – served with light wasabi mashed potato, konbu-marinated buttered asparagus in miso beef au jus, and toasted nori sour cream.

Char-grilled Wagyu rib eye topped with raclette cheese – served with crispy Cow Label brisket, truffled risotto, porcini mushroom miso beef au jus, toasted nori sour cream, and pan-seared foie gras.

(From L-R) Raspberry sorbet and Haw Haw milk crumble, Choc-Nut pretzel crusted cheesecake, and white chocolate-glazed green tea Pop Tart.

Vanilla bean panna cotta.

Let me end this post with a short realization. Before I met CJ (that was around April or May), I was ready to leave my current job and apply somewhere else. I originally planned to pass my resignation letter last January—after I get my 13th month pay—and look for a job the month after.

However, things changed when she arrived last August. From there, everything fell into place. We’ve had a lot of firsts together and now that we’re going five months (we just had out fourth month-sary last March 8), I’m very thankful to have spent Valentine’s Day this year as someone with a partner. According to a friend, you meet a lot of good people in time.

Which brings me to the first time I told a lady that I fell for her, and got rejected. Before we parted ways for good, she left me a message: I hope you find the right one someday.

Taken at Mochicream Cafe SM North EDSA, when she said “yes”.

And looking at it now, I guess I really found the right one.

Until the next post, bon appetit.

(AUTHOR’S NOTE: Ninyo Fusion Cuisine and Wine Lounge is located at 66 Esteban Abada Street, Brgy. Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1108. The names of the dishes above were taken from their Facebook page, which you can visit and like for more updates and promotions.)

7 thoughts on “68 – On Pre-Valentine Feasts and Celebrating Hearts’ Day

  1. Reblogged this on Pritong Siopao and commented:
    To be honest, you have 365 days to show your love to your other half or special someone. Don’t stress yourself over a single day dedicated to love, make everyday a Valentine’s Day. And oh…never ever stop telling your lady that she’s beautiful and you,my fellow lady, do not put limits on your man and compliment him from time to time.

    This made me hungry for oysters and steaks…

  2. ang twit naman…congrats sa iyong pagkahanap ng iyong right one..totoong di naman talaga kelangan magcelebrate ng Valentines pag Feb 14 eh…pwede naman everyday 🙂

    …..and hangsasarap ng pagkain…

Leave a Reply

