51 – On Finding The Right One

When you love a woman, you tell her that she’s really wanted
When you love a woman, you tell her that she’s the one
‘Cause she needs somebody to tell her that you’ll always be together
So tell me; have you ever really, really, really ever loved a woman?

(Brian Adams, “Have You Ever Really Loved A Woman?”)

I know you people were surprised because I quoted this song here on my blog, but it fits nicely with the awesome changes that happened in my life just recently. I just found the lady that makes my heart beat, drives me to wake up everyday, and inspires me to continue writing. It took me more than two decades, but as they sayโ€”better late than never, right?

I was supposed to close the door to love forever. I’ve given up and accepted the possibility of being single forever, as you’ve read in a past entry. But she arrived, and I took the leap of faith for one last time. Fortunately, it paid off. I know I’m still learning the ropes when it comes to the love department, but it takes time. Oh, by the way โ€“ her name’s CJ. She’s an officemate of mine, though we are under different departments. Regardless, it’s nice to have a special someone who accompanies you in every trip.

See, CJ is a unique lady in the sense that she chooses not to conform to the general idea of what a woman should be and how a woman should act. To put it into perspective, she isn’t your regular damsel in distress waiting for a knight in shining armor to save her. Rather, she’s more of a Bonnie Parker riding out with Clyde Barrow. For me, however, she’s the greatest gift I have ever received in my entire life; better than any material gift for my birthday and Christmas.

On a side note, I once dreamed of having an Atenean girlfriend, but you know what happened – I failed to have one. It was a rarity, an exception among the norm. The current crop is luckier, though. They have things such as ADMU Crushes and Ateneo Secret Files. But if you’re like me who never had any significant other in his entire college life, here are some tips I can give you.

Don’t look for the special someone in an immediate place. It took me two years after graduation before I met CJ, and that was after I got laid off in my previous job. I’ve had a crush or two before in college, but they were out of my league. Couple that with failed attempts to reach out to the opposite gender, and my college life ended up being a lonely one. I was still hopeful during that time, so I just waited…before I came short of shutting the door for good. By the way, she’s from UST, and we all know how people get divided because of rivalries in college sports. But screw UAAP rivalries, love transcends all boundaries!

Learn to dress better. Ever since I discovered the Bespoke Man blog by Kevin Yapjoco, I developed a sort of fashion sense and an appreciation for more formal-looking wear. Out went the hoodies, sneakers, and casual tees (though I wear them less frequently). I shifted to wearing polo shirts, dress pants, sweatshirts, and sweaters. Even my footwear had an upgrade as I started buying classier-looking shoes. The wardrobe shift was never in vain, though; she told me one time about liking my fashion sense.

You’ve got to give her some faith, hold her tight
A little tenderness, you gotta treat her right
She will be there for you
Taking good care of you…

With regards to this milestone, expect a lot of changes here in the upcoming weeks. Until the next post. ๐Ÿ˜‰

17 thoughts on “51 – On Finding The Right One

    • Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Speaking of that song, I did some research and found out it was from the movie “Don Juan DeMarco”, starring Johnny Depp and Marlon Brando; sadly, this movie was rather unappreciated despite Depp starring in it. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  1. I would never understand that phrase “out of my league”…I guess because I don’t believe that at all? My husband and I were from two different worlds. The only thing that connected us was work- we ended up in the same band, but even with music, we are sooo different and trying to work on it together is like igniting world war 3. You are never out of your league, bro, someone who happens to be perfect for you was waiting, is all. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Well, in my situation – it was more of the girls being rich, athletic, endowed with perfect features (e.g. chinita, alabaster-skinned), intelligent – literally achievers in life. Ateneo had a lot of these types, and someone like me who wasn’t even rich to start off with would never stand any chance. (Time to put that past behind – I’ll write about it in a new entry) ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Regardless, thank you for the kind words ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Hi Monch! It’s my first time to pass by your blog and I’m enjoying what I reading so far!

    This reminds me so much of my relationship with Mark. He was almost at your stage before we met. He was 28 and NGSB. If there’s anything we learned, everyone deserves someone to love and to love them back. What sucks is the timing. :/ But I’m extremely happy for you and I love how you had the initiative to step up how you look. ๐Ÿ™‚ Way to go!:))

    I wish the best for both of you! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

