49 – On Lunching At A Snail’s Pace: La Creperie, EDSA Shangri-La Plaza

Prepare to be transported to a little corner of exquisiteness.

24 August 2014

It’s been a pretty long while since I posted something related to La Creperie. I can’t forget the first time I ate at their Galleria branch and this is my second time to review the restaurant. The opportunity was timely indeed, as the Sunday was a break from two consecutive weeks of overtime. It was a way for me to enjoy my hard-earned salary; besides, what’s the use of overtime pay if you’re too tired to enjoy it? Thus, I planned my visit to La Creperie’s EDSA Shangri-La branch for a late Sunday afternoon lunch.

The dining area.

Compared to its other locations, La Creperie EDSA Shangri-La is smaller, given that it’s only a kiosk and a dining area situated at the mall’s western section. It’s rather off, being in the middle of wardrobe and shoe stores like Gant, Ecco, Diesel, and more. If you don’t mind the noise of other diners and people passing by – just like me, then good for you. Otherwise, it’s not exactly a private dining experience. The best time to visit would be around 2:00 in the afternoon when there aren’t much customers. Despite the setback with regards to location, I’d like to comment La Creperie’s polite crew and fast service—they were quick to usher me to an empty table as soon as I arrived, get my orders down pat, and serve all my meals when I barely even started preparing my notes.

TWG’s 1837 Black Tea: a bouquet in a cup.

Strong hint of forest fruits and flowers in this one.

For starters, I orered a pot of TWG tea from their selection. Being a black tea person and learning from my previous experience, I picked the signature 1837 Black Tea (P165 for a small pot, with one refill). The menu describes it as “a unique blend of black tea infused with fruits and flowers from the Bermuda Triangle which leaves a lingering aftertaste of ripe berries, anise, and caramel”. True to its description, this black tea did not disappoint. There was a dominant scent of berries and flowers as soon as I poured it out, and the berry aftertaste is strong. Everything changed when I added sugar to the tea; the aftertaste leaned towards the floral side. All in all, it reminded me of C2’s Forest Fruits Green Tea sans the sweetness. Little did I know that this fruity and flowery brew was a good choice for the later offerings to come.

Earthy and savory.

Pumpkin and garlic bread, truly an amazing combination.

I barely started writing down my notes for the tea when their Soup of the Day (P185) arrived at my table. It happened to be pumpkin soup, and was accompanied by a slice of garlic bread. Seeing that one slice wasn’t enough, I ordered two more for P50. The server offered some cracked pepper for the soup, to which I obliged. The soup was well-seasoned, with the cream reinforcing the pumpkin’s richness. The low point, if any, was this certain earthy aftertaste I can’t seem to pinpoint. Maybe it’s the pumpkin, I guess. The garlic bread was likewise well-seasoned, and here’s a little tip: dunk it in the soup for an amazing experience for your taste buds. I will be ordering this in a future visit, considering that this was a new addition to their menu.

La Creperie’s Crevette Crepe.

What surprise awaits me with this crepe?

Now those are what you call shrimps!

And then, the star of the show arrived. The Crevette (P295) was a savory crepe filled with shrimp, crab fat (aligue), and spinach – in bechamel sauce. A side salad of lettuce greens in vinaigrette accompanied the crepe. I broke the package open and was surprised to see the bechamel sauce having an intense yellow color—thanks to the aligue—that I initially mistook for melted cheese. A bite revealed a multitude of flavors. The mix of aligue and bechamel contributed tartness, while the shrimps brought in a savory umami taste. Good thing the spinach was there to provide texture and tone down the saltiness, not to mention giving a pop of green. Speaking of shrimps – the shrimps in the dish were large and abundant, spread out so well that every bite is guaranteed to have a chunk of seafood in it. The crepe, all in all, was essentially neutral and went very well with the garlic bread. The tea I ordered earlier washed away the savory explosion in my mouth. Indeed, the Crevette was one of the most savory crepes I tasted – hands down. No wonder this is one of their best-sellers. (A word of warning, though; this isn’t exactly a good choice for those with hypertension, high blood pressure, or seafood allergies.)

“We interrupt this program to bring you…MACARONS!”

Soft and delicate.

Let me sidetrack for a while to do a short feature on the chocolate macarons by EDSA Shangri-La Hotel’s Bakeshop. I managed to get my hands on them after months of waiting, and here’s my verdict. They were as large as TWG’s and Bizu’s, though cheaper at P45 a piece. One bite reveals rather hollow and delicate halves that easily crack. However, the chocolate ganache filling redeems this one. A bit of fine-tuning and improvement with the halves and this will be a macaron to die for. Regardless, it’s still good with a warm cup of English Breakfast with milk.

Oreo Cookies and Cream Crepe: a cookie explosion inside and out.

Another angle.

Sorry, I just couldn’t resist…

As usual, I capped off my meal with one of La Creperie’s trademark dessert crepes. The Oreo Cookies and Cream Crepe (P245) I ordered was an indulgence in itself. Chocolate crepe filled with chocolate syrup and Oreo bits, topped with chocolate syrup and even more crushed Oreo biscuits – finished off with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. The topping provided a cool hint to the crepe while it melted, toning down the sweetness and serving as a foil to the savory crepe from earlier. In hindsight, it was much like the Double Chocolate Fudge Brownie Crepe from my first trip – but this one is tamer. Regardless, the Oreo Cookies and Cream Crepe still needs to be eaten slowly. Ugh, I ought to watch my blood sugar levels now…

La Creperie is widely known for good food and good service, and I can personally add “consistency” to its good qualities. A lot of their offerings are much talked about by other food bloggers—with quality, taste, and consistency no matter what branch. They recently opened a new outlet in the Loyola Heights area and it’s been getting rave reviews, so I’m looking forward to dine there. Before I wrap up, I’d like to apologize for the lack of decent pictures in this entry. You see, Shangri-La’s security is rather strict when it comes to picture-taking; I was approached one time by one of the guards merely because I was holding a camera that time. I had to turn off the flash to avoid detection, thus the not-so-clear quality.

Do check out their Facebook page here. Until the next review, bon appetit. And by the way, thank you for the 6000 views. 😉

Just hit the big 6!

La Creperie
2/F West Wing, EDSA Shangri-La Plaza Mall
Shaw Boulevard cor. EDSA
Wack Wack, Mandaluyong City 1555

3 thoughts on “49 – On Lunching At A Snail’s Pace: La Creperie, EDSA Shangri-La Plaza

  1. The last time I’ve eaten crepe was years ago, but I love these chic little cafes at the mall. I have a favorite but I won’t tell her, hihi. Will keep your recommendations in mind when we visit the place with the kids. Those with oreos look promising and the prices are fair. 😉

  2. Pingback: 73 – On Denouements: La Creperie, Katipunan Avenue | The Monching's Guide

Leave a Reply

