46 – On Going Back To Blogging

First of all, howdy.

Two months ago, I announced my hiatus from posting to catch up on some things—not to mention a rather personal incident that happened to me. So much has happened during that period, and I’m thankful that I managed to get back on track. I have a lot of pending reviews here – more than enough to keep me busy for a long time. In line with this, I’ll be publishing posts on a fixed schedule starting with this one; preferably on Wednesdays so I don’t catch up too much.

The two-month hiatus has been a fruitful endeavor as I’ve reviewed a bunch of restaurants for the blog—plus so much more. Aside from the reviews, I was busy with a lot of work-related things; thus, the hiatus. Here’s what I’ve been doing for the past months.

The set above was from the exclusive media event for The Life and Art of Isabelo Tampinco, held at the National Museum in Manila last August. I served as a registration assistant and marshal here alongside some officemates—even putting on the shoes of a tour guide for some of the media people. The book was about the lesser-known sculptor Isabelo Tampinco, who was a contemporary of Jose Rizal and Juan Luna (both artists in their own right). He was famous for making religious sculptures and architectural pieces infused with a unique Filipino flair—the eponymous estilo Tampinco.

He also worked on various government buildings such as the Old Senate Session Hall, and religious buildings like the San Ignacio Church with his sons Angel and Vidal. Sadly, the ravages of war, time, and forgetting buried the great master’s legacy into near obscurity. However, today’s generation will be able to rediscover him through the book. Many of his works were salvaged and preserved by art collectors such as the Salas family of Gallery Genesis. The Old Senate Session Hall at the National Museum, a masterpiece of Tampinco y Hijos, has been fully restored to its former glory. Despite the destruction of the San Ignacio Church in Intramuros – another Tampinco building – during the liberation of Manila, there is still an existing piece from the old church at the Ateneo de Manila University’s Rizal Library. Clue: it’s located at the old Rizal Lib, where the Art Gallery is located today.

A month after the Tampinco launch, I was assigned to the Vibal booth during the first day (September 17) of the Manila International Book Fair 2014 at the SMX Convention Center. It was more than 11 months since I last went to SMX (it was for Cosplay Mania 2013), and the feeling was radically different. I served as a sales assistant for the Vibal Foundation section, specifically at the Arte Filipino spot that featured various Philippine painters and visual artists. I’ve had my share of “customers from hell”, but the most notorious and repeat offenders belong to government institutions. Now you know why I don’t like dealing with people in general.

I also documented an interview at the booth featuring two lawyer-authors (Attorneys Joseph Noel Estrada and Kristjan Vincent Gargantiel) who wrote a book about the upcoming K to 12 educational system. I also managed to sneak in pictures with 9News anchor AC Nicholls and actress Dimples Romana. I even passed by the Ateneo de Manila University Press booth and bumped into two of my old college professors; that, under the guise of asking about job openings at the press and Allan Derain’s Ang Banal na Aklat ng mga Kumag. My duty was supposed to be also on the 19th, but Typhoon Mario hit the capital and flooded streets prevented me from reaching the office – which was submerged in chest-deep waters.

Well, here’s to catching up with two months’ worth of backlogs. Until the new posts arrive, see you.

8 thoughts on “46 – On Going Back To Blogging

    • Thank you Ms. May 😀

      Hmmm…baka hindi ko po magawan ng post yung K to 12 and Spoliarium, so I’ll just put my take here. Haven’t read the actual book though, since I was only there to help out the Ogilvy PR people (who coordinated with the media in turn) =))

      For the Spoliarium, it was nice to see it in person. Yun nga lang, IMO it’s not exactly strong enough to deliver a political message compared to the painting across it (“El Asesinato del Gobernador Bustamante” by Felix Resurrecion Hidalgo).

Leave a Reply

