33 – The Monching Walks: 26 April 2014

Welcome to the second edition of The Monching Walks. I don’t want to mention things about my work right now as much as possible given that I’m still tired from two days of overtime, to the point that it has actually affected my writing. I’m on the way to recovery right now and looking on the bright side, but things will never be the same. Thankfully, last Saturday was a free day so I had the chance to catch up with some things.

So to start off, I went to STUDIO NAMU at Matalino Street to inquire about their rates. I’m planning a cosplay photoshoot with some friends here, since we previously had a shoot in the said studio and we loved it. Coming from GMA Kamuning, I simply rode a jeep, got off at Philippine Heart Center, and walked towards the studio. It’s located at Sir Thomas Square near The Sulo Riviera (formerly the Sulo Hotel); incidentally, the former Little Quiapo soda foundation stood here before they transferred near the back of SSS. I stopped by Cha Dao Tea Place in Matalino after finishing at Studio Namu for a short snack. It was already past lunchtime and I haven’t eaten yet. Their Cha Yen (Thai red milk tea) is comparable to – no, actually better than that canned Thai tea sold in 7-Eleven outlets. Ah, whatever – I’m a fan now!

Next stop: Eastwood City. I rode a jeep to the place after stopping by Cubao to wrap up some tasks. I haven’t returned there ever since a job interview last February; surprisingly, Eastwood City hasn’t changed a bit. There were some additional shops, but more on that later. I mentioned that I haven’t had lunch yet, so I checked out Namanama at the third floor of Eastwood Cybermall to try out their Taiwanese Fried Chicken Rice (and to take a picture of it for a future triptych post). Namanama used to be a regular dining spot for me back when I was working in Eastwood; this place has witnessed team lunches and salary treats. After that hearty lunch, I went down to the ground floor to have the old football jersey of mine altered at Mr. Quickie Plus. These are special branches of the shoe repair shop chain that offer embroidery and garment alteration services. I previously used it for a John Cena cosplay, but it’s too large for casual wear now and I am planning to have a design embroidered on it. Two alteration shops in Cubao denied the job, but Mr. Quickie Plus took on it for P300. That takes one task off the list.

Now that I’ve accomplished most of my tasks, I proceeded to walk around Eastwood City. It so happened that the Totuus Tuus exhibit was there, featuring relics from Pope (now a Saint) John Paul II. I was around 5 years old when the former Pope went to the Philippines for the 1995 World Youth Day; a cardboard replica of His Holiness’ headdress located in our home altar was a perennial reminder of the moment. Some items of note were displayed – such as relics of other holy men and women, the Pope’s vestment used during the WYD, and a vigil candle used in the same event. More than his relics, however, the most admirable thing about the former pontiff was his capacity to forgive his would-be assassin Mehmet Ali Agca in prison. If you will remember, Agca shot and wounded John Paul II during the latter’s visit to Turkey. Instead of vengeance, however, the former pontiff showed compassion – even treating Agca as a friend, visiting him in prison, and constantly getting in touch with his family during the former’s incarceration. It takes a lot of balls to do that, and he truly is a saint for actually having the guts to do so.

Of course, a trip to Eastwood wouldn’t be complete without a photowalk around the premises. It was a good thing I brought my point-and-shoot camera to capture the different sights of Eastwood City. A lot of new shops have sprouted such as Gap and Jamba Juice, and some new establishments are set to open like Uniqlo. Accomplishing a lot of things despite being tired was an achievement in itself. I sat down on one of the benches at Eastwood Citywalk when all was done, with a chocolate waffle from Tous Les Jours and a cup of hot Honey Oolong Milk Tea from Chatime. Taking a deep breath, I told myself: life is still good amid all the bad things. A jeep ride to Cubao and an FX ride home later, and I called it a day.

I’d like to take this chance to clarify two things before I end. Back when I started in September of last year, my intention for this blog was to be a 100% personal avenue for my writing; something I would like to do in my spare time and put my creative efforts into. Given that I wasn’t really active in the writing craft back in college (I was perennially short of money and time),  I’m taking my chance now that I have resources – which brings me to my first point. For everyone’s information, I post stuff here because I was satisfied with their service or product, not because of a promised compensation. This applies to all – from advocacies and events to online shops and restaurants. See, I’m a rather opinionated introvert and not all my posts are meant to satisfy others; people may not like my posts and the blog, and they have the option to stay away.

Second, I’d just like to voice out something that has been grinding my gears for some time. A lot of people, especially from technical and business courses, seem to think that creative people have it easy all the time when it comes to writing content. Well, let me point out something – all forms of writing, content or not, aren’t easy as they seem to be. Unlike lines of work that utilize the left side of the brain with technicalities, logic, and formulas, right-brained lines of work operate on thinking outside the box, absence of restrictions, and free-flowing ideas. Good writing takes time, a lot more than the hours I made use of in making more than 30 blog entries.

I apologize if I had to let this out here on an otherwise lighthearted entry, but I’m not sorry for having these opinions. With everything wrapped up, see you until the next post.

2 thoughts on “33 – The Monching Walks: 26 April 2014

Leave a Reply

