5 – On Simple Indulgences: Triptych 1

I had the chance to do a short food trip after my job interview somewhere in New Manila. Thankfully, I arrived and finished early – thus I had more time to go around and eat around. This will be the first time I’ll be posting short food reviews that I might have otherwise posted as statuses in Facebook. You never know, this might attract visitors to the joint.

“Weg keyeng menewele key Denyel Pedelle.”

Tried KFC’s Crispy Butter Chicken meal (P99), and I’m personally not recommending it to you. Don’t be fooled by the Daniel Padilla endorsement either. There’s something off with the taste of butter and chicken, so stick to their original and hot and spicy flavors. It comes with butter rice (extra butter rice costs P20), mashed potatoes and corn, and a regular drink. The butter rice is a redeeming factor, though – it’s good with gravy and will most likely jive well with KFC’s original chicken.

Christmas ain’t complete without this

Christmas season is nearing, and I have been craving for traditional Yuletide fare such as bibingka and puto bumbong. And when it comes to these, Antonio’s Bibingka in SM Megamall is a personal favorite of mine since they make it all year round. It was last year when I tried out their rice cakes and I still remember their soft, leche flan-like consistency. But now, their original bibingka pictured above (P115 for the big size) had a texture closer to a cake. The servings of cheese and salted duck eggs were still generous, and good thing there was brown sugar on my table to add a bit of sweetness. Maybe they didn’t have muscovado sugar in stock when I went there.

Kaon ta! (Let’s eat!)

Nothing beats an early dinner after a long day out. After trying out Dimsum Break in SM North EDSA three times (thanks to a friend and college batchmate’s recommendation), I finally found my best picks. I highly recommend their Shrimp Toast fried dimsum (P65) coupled with their signature Original Steamed Fried Rice (P68). Dimsum Break had its origins in the Ding How Dimsum House in Cebu City, and the one who told me about the place (who happens to be a Cebuano) tasted home in their offerings. If you crave dimsum and want affordable dishes, I absolutely suggest you take a visit.

Until the next time, bon appetit. Before I leave, here are some pictures from one of the Christmas displays at EDSA Shangri-La Plaza.

3 thoughts on “5 – On Simple Indulgences: Triptych 1

    • Nope, it’s located in the Ortigas area – along EDSA (a main thoroughfare here). Megamall is located right beside Shangri-La Plaza.

      Antonio’s Bibingka is on the 5th level of SM Megamall, near Megatrade Hall 1.

      • I’v only been to that one in Makati. Oh, and there’;s an Sm nearby where our house is, almost walking distance. We always ate at Gerry’s Grill. I noticed something….. the amount of food wasn’t much. I think we Americans eat too much though. We eat big portions. i always had 2 servings of rice everytime when we were there.I’m not fat, though, haha.

Leave a Reply

