1 – On Introductions

Yours Truly (yes, that’s how I look like)

“Tis true, my form is something odd
But blaming me is blaming God
Could I create myself anew
I would not fail in pleasing you.”

(“The Elephant Man” Joseph Merrick)

What a better way to start a post introducing the namesake of this blog than that poem above by Joseph Merrick, otherwise known as the Elephant Man. The name’s Monch Puentebella – a 20-something content writer working in Libis, a sporadic cosplayer active from 2008 – 2012 (and occasionally attending conventions when time and money permit), and an Atenean (I graduated with a Creative Writing degree last March 2012). I’m pretty much into geek interests – such as anime, manga, food, a bit of video games, and cosplay. I’m not really into sports – the closest I can get to being sporty is jogging, lifting a bit of weights, attending fun runs if time permits, and watching WWE in that particular order.

Ah yes, the caption below the blog name. See, the trend for this day and age would be to have a girlfriend as early as possible – preferably high school or college. However, I failed in both aspects – that’s why I’m still single and most possibly, forever alone. And for the record, I’ve stopped looking. If having a girlfriend was meant for me, I would have found it years ago but sadly it has not been the case. But it shouldn’t be the reason for giving up on life. I once read that people who reach 40 without looking for a special other end up being content with their lives; why not start being content in life early on rather than wait for 40 or be depressed due to the lack of a love life, right?

But enough of things that don’t matter in the long run. If you’re wondering why I choose to focus on food, here’s my answer. I love food. I enjoy a good meal, alone or with friends. Even lunch time in the office is an opportunity to discover good eating places I’ve never been before. My officemates may not be that appreciative of my dining choices, but luckily my friends in cosplay are kindred spirits. Now that I’ve laid down stuff, expect some posts about food (and a bit of non-food posts and some reflections) to appear here in the succeeding days. I might not be that active in posting things given that I have other priorities outside this blog, but rest assured I’ll deliver.

Enjoy your stay. 🙂

4 thoughts on “1 – On Introductions

    • Hehe, salamats XD

      May mga iilang nagsasabi na bigla na lang raw darating iyan nang hindi mo inaasahan – pero mukhang malabo na yun sa kaso ko, lagi akong basted / hindi nakakakuha ng pagkakataon (madalas taken na yung dapat na liligawan ko) =))

      Sakali mang abutin ako ng 30 at wala pa talaga, ewan…siguro seminaryo na lang at mabait naman si Bro.

  1. apir nakarelate ako ulit dun sa may sabit na pala. pero wag kang mawalan ng pag-asa. hayaan mo lang siguro and i think ang pinaka-old age para sa guy ay 40. sa girls nakaka-frustrate because of social and physical factors ( like yung pregnancy).

    mukha ka pa naman bata, vibrant and career-oriented – these are good traits for women 🙂

    mabuhay!

  2. Pingback: 132 – Get Back | The Monching's Guide

Leave a Reply

